I often forget that much wine is not vegetarian. They use egg whites, gelatin, and isinglass to clarify it. And while I'm all for using every part of the animal, I'd prefer it be used on something I'm not drinking.
This blog has some more information on animal products in wine, and links to further information. This blog has information on animal products in beer.
Camper English is a cocktails and spirits writer for publications including Saveur (Contributing Drinks Editor), Details.com (Cocktail Columnist), FSR Magazine (Spirits Editor), Whisky Advocate, PopSci.com, Mixology, Drinks International, and many more. Learn about Camper and Alcademics, or read clips of his published work.