I often forget that much wine is not vegetarian. They use egg whites, gelatin, and isinglass to clarify it. And while I'm all for using every part of the animal, I'd prefer it be used on something I'm not drinking. This blog has some more information on animal products in wine, and links to further information. This blog has information on animal products in beer.